Delaware Traffic Violation Attorneys
Representing Clients Facing Traffic Violations in Delaware and the Eastern Shore of Maryland
While getting a traffic ticket is not uncommon, it could have a big impact on your life depending on the severity of the violation. If you are facing charges for a traffic offense and need a traffic violations lawyers in Delaware or the Eastern Shore of Maryland, call Whitehead Law for competent legal representation.
Representation for Serious Traffic Violations in Delaware
Traffic violations in Delaware can result in points on your driver’s license. When you accrue points on your license, your insurance company may begin charging higher premiums for your car insurance. If you face serious charges or this is not your first offense, you may want to seek legal advice from experienced traffic violations attorneys in Delaware.
We represent clients accused of violations, such as:
- Reckless driving
- Aggressive driving
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Driving without insurance
The penalties for traffic violations vary depending on the specific offense and whether or not this is your first or subsequent offense. You could face points on your license, fines, or even license suspension. Options such as taking a defensive driving course or probation before judgment can help you avoid points on your license or a conviction for the traffic offense.
What is Reckless Driving?
Reckless driving involves driving a car or other vehicle without due consideration for the safety of others and without adequate regard for the property of others. For a first offense, you could be fined $100 - $300 or/and face imprisonment of up to 30 days.
How Many Points Does it Take to Lose Your License in Delaware?
The accumulation of 14 points will earn you a mandatory 4-month license suspension. For every 2 marks that you accumulate after that, you earn an additional 2 months license suspension. A speeding violation of 1-14 MPH over the posted speed limit will not be assessed points if you qualify. To qualify, you must meet 2 criteria. It is the first violation within any 3 year period AND the ticket is reconciled through the Voluntary Assessment Center. Ensure to follow all steps to qualify for this program. Contact an experienced lawyer to be sure that you qualify. You can earn 3 credits if you complete an approved defensive driving course within 3 years of the violation. The course typically takes 1-6 hours. Points on your license do expire. After 12 months from the date of conviction, the DMV credits points at one-half value.
Fighting the Ticket in Court
If you choose to contest the ticket, an experienced Delaware traffic violation attorney offers the best chance for protecting your rights and future. It may be possible to have the ticket overturned in court or reduced to a less serious violation, which may help save points. We can evaluate your case, discuss the available options, and determine the best strategy for your case. Our criminal defense attorneys are licensed in both Delaware and Maryland.
20+ Years' Experience
We have more than 20 years of combined legal experience protecting the rights of our clients.
Our family name is respected throughout Delaware and Maryland for our integrity and track-record of success!
We go to bat for our clients. We do not back down when it comes to protecting our clients' futures.
Our firm's attorneys are seasoned trial attorneys. We have practical experience in and out of the courtroom.
Warm & Welcoming Environment
Our goal is to make sure our clients are comfortable with us from the very moment they walk into our office.
Se Habla Español
Our firm is able to assist all Spanish speaking clients.